Posted by: badbirdz2 | April 20, 2007 @ 5:45 am

Birds over Florida

Heavy to moderate migration over the state of Florida last night, with the highest densities leaving the state from the northern border, and decreasing in density as one moved south. No birds were detected leaving Cuba last night, and very little was evident leaving the Keys. Miami did show a strong exodus from the SE to NW. As far as new arrivals, there were two pulses from the Bahamas apparent on the radar; the first reached the southeast coast early last night (~11:21pm) and the second this morning just before daybreak. Reports from all locations are encouraged.

Good Birding

Frames are every 1/2 hour for reflectivity and velocity, and 1 hour for the regional composite
Base Reflectivity image from Key WestBase Velocity image from Key West Base Reflectivity image from MiamiBase Velocity image from Miami Regional Base Reflectivity for the Southeast

Responses

  1. I don’t have a comment specifically about this post – I just wanted to say that I am very thrilled to see this blog! I’m a birder from Colorado who will be heading down to central Florida early next week, and I just discovered this blog a couple days ago. I also have a background in meteorology (M.S. from Univ of Calif-Davis), and anything that illustrates the intersection of my two favorite topics certain gets my attention.

    I’ll be sure to post what I can, when I can, during my trip. Thanks for providing a forum!


Categories

