Posted by: woodcreeper | September 26, 2007 @ 6:00 am

More birds over Florida

 

They’re busting out at the seams! A similar pattern continued last night, as most migration occurred to the north with decreasing levels to the south- but the most interesting observation was the “outpouring” of birds from the coast.
Here’s the radar from sunset last night through sunrise this morning.

Frames are every 1/2 hour for reflectivity and velocity, and every hour for the regional composite. Click on the thumbnail to view the full-sized animation.

Base Reflectivity image from Miami, FL Base Velocity image from Miami, FL Composite base reflectivity for the Southeastern USA
By checking the composite image, you can see the amount of birds pushing off the coast into the Gulf. Both the southern panhandle and the west coast saw large pushes of birds heading south and west (respectively) into the ocean. The Jacksonville radar showed another big night of birds moving into the state from the NE to the SW, and the Miami radar also showed another push of birds making their way downstate, despite the strong easterly winds and the storms moving north.

As Michelle Davis commented yesterday (and Larry “Mandingo” Manfredi pointed out on Floridabirds), the rains yesterday morning did act to put birds down on the ground- even though migration levels were low according to the radar. Well, given that migration levels were higher last night- I would expect even more birds to be displaced by the storms, and so birding conditions wherever the rain was (is?) falling this morning should be good. The Key West radar was down all night, but I would expect that the upper Keys should harbor a fair number of migrants at first light today.

Good Birding! 🙂

Responses

  1. Lots of bobolinks flying over South Dade last night around 8PM; I was hearing a call every few seconds for the half hour I listened. I maybe heard one veery, and didn’t hear any warblers. I can see a green mass of birds lifting off from inland South Dade at that time on your loop from last night.

    No banding today at Cape Florida; rained out. Our rain blob is starting to spin and might become a depression soon.

  2. On Wednesday, I went to Lake Lotus Park, just north of Orlando in Altamonte Springs (Seminole county). It was one of the quietest days for birds that I have had this fall. Three warbler species in very low numbers. No tanagers, thrushes or orioles. A few vireos.

    Tuesday I went to Maitland Community Park. It was pretty typical for what I have seen this month. Seven warbler species in low numbers. A couple of Baltimore Orioles, one Swainson’s Thrush, one Summer Tanager, a few Red-eyed Vireos, and a first-of-season flyover Northern Harrier.

  3. Hi David,
    This morning I was supposed to hit Barnes but car problems had me cancel my plans of birding the park so I decided to bird the lake and Gumbo limbo at the end of my wife’s job after I dropped her off.
    Here is what I saw:

    2 B/W Warbler (M/F)
    2 American Redstart (Female)
    5 B/G Gnatcatcher
    3 Ovenbird
    1 C. Yellowthroat (female)
    6 R/W Blackbird (M/F)
    8 Blue Jay
    4 Common Grackle
    4 Boat-tailed Grackle
    2 E. Starling
    1 DC Cormorant
    3 Muscovy Duck
    1 Osprey

    I birded for about a half an hour before I had to get going.
    We will be out birding today in the afternoon after work, hopefully we have a great day.

    Thanks for posting David
    hopefully we will run into each other again when you are down here to thank you in person.


Categories

