Posted by: woodcreeper | October 10, 2007 @ 6:45 am

Birds over the Sunshine State

 

Here’s the radar from sunset last night through 6:00am this morning.

Frames are every 1/2 hour for reflectivity and velocity, and every hour for the regional composite. Click on the thumbnail to view the full-sized animation.

Base Reflectivity image from Key West, FL Base Velocity image from Key West, FL
Base Reflectivity image from Miami, FL Base Velocity image from Miami, FL
Although the regional composite feed went down early last night, both the Key West and Miami radars indicate some heavy migration on strong ENE winds. Birds can be seen launching into the Straits of Florida and the Gulf via the south and west coasts respectively. Birding conditions along the west coast should be best today, with inland sites also seeing new birds due to the easterly component to the winds. This might also be a good time for pelagics off the east coast…any and all reports are welcome!

Good Birding! 🙂

Responses

  1. We weren’t able to capitalize on the good migration but lots of improvement over past 2 days. I believe the east component of the winds is still keeping some of the birds off the Key. We did band a Lincoln’s Sparrow this morning, so interesting birds are here.

  2. Due to my limited mobility (car problems), I couldn’t do my usual morning stop at Matheson. Instead I did a late afternoon visit to Sadowski Park near my home. I was disappointed in seeing only 2 BTB’s, heard a Redstart, saw a Catbird, and got a brief look at a Thrush (most likely Gray-cheeked). I plan to stop tomorrow at Matheson, and will likely bird Friday and Saturday. Winds are dying down now, but will pick up again out of the east on Sunday. We are still anxiously awaiting Octoberfest down here. If it going to happen, it better happen before Sunday.

    I agree about the pelagics. I plan to do a trip offshore next week, if the weather permits.

    Cheers,

    Roberto

  3. This morning after dropping off Mariel at work I went down to the end of the parking lot like I do every day M-F to bird the edges of the lake where there is a couple of Gumbo Limbo trees, and other shrubs. I need to take a tree, shrub, and flower identification guide out with me soon to find out what is around this location I survey every morning. Well anyways this morning I got out of my car and heard lots of chirping in the trees and the lower portions of the shrubs near the water. I first checked the trees and found a couple of warblers and gnatcatcher, then I turned my attention to a beautiful singing Common Yellowthroat male, as I observed the yellowthroat a female came in and landed on the same limb of the natural bamboo that borders the lake (arr. where was my camera). Noticing some movement coming from the end of the shrubs I put the bino on a pair of Ovenbird working together side by side, hanging out with them was a single whitish adult Northern Waterthrush the dense streaks separated this bird from a Louisiana. It was fun to see all three birds pumping their tails up and down together. I observed a larger number of birds today I guess your posting about the migration last night is right. Usually I see the usual suspects and in smaller numbers.
    Today I observed…

    1 Northern Waterthrush (FOTS this location)
    2 Ovenbird
    3 Common Yellowthroat (2 female 1 male)
    4 American Redstart (all female)
    4 Black-throated Blue (2 male 2 female) Heard others
    1 Palm Warbler (FOTS this location)
    3 BG Gnatcatcher (1 enjoying a moth about the size of it’s head)
    3 Northern Mockingbird
    4 Blue Jay
    6 Mourning Dove
    3 Fish Crow
    1 Green Heron
    6 Boat-tailed Grackle

    There was more birds chirping and foraging but I had to leave. I spent about 20-25 minutes checking out the location before heading out to work myself.

    Good luck to any Birders out there today.

    Nature is Awesome!
    Angel & Mariel

    OOOOOOHHHHHH We just read your posting on the TAS board and are excited sorry you can’t be here birding with all of us. We will raise a beer for you for every lifer! Good luck birding up there.

  4. A&M
    Thanks for the shout-out. Hopefully you’ll need to call a cab today…with all the lifers you’ll get 🙂
    Aghh, we like to call that the “Paulie Big-Horn” birding reward system. A good beer for a good bird (although we would often end up calling “Mourning Dove” a good bird if we got too thirsty).

    Good Birding!

  5. In case you’re wondering, Paulie Big-Horn has since changed his name (without permission, I might add) to PB Life Is Good

  6. Thought I’d throw this in since it gives a snapshot of birds heading out over the Gulf:

    Subject: Fw: [MISSBIRD] 10-10 rig birds
    From: Lucy and Bob Duncan
    Date: Wed, 10 Oct 2007 17:05:08 -0500

    We picked this up off of the Mississippi listserv, and thought Florida
    birders would also be interested.
    Read on.
    Lucy Duncan
    Gulf Breeze, FL

    —– Original Message —–
    From: “RudyDog”
    To: “missbird” ; “LABIRD”

    Sent: Wednesday, October 10, 2007 1:54 PM
    Subject: [MISSBIRD] 10-10 rig birds

    >
    >> I got up this morning at 03:00 to complete a test on my equipment. When
    >> I went outside the sky was full of migrating birds, hundreds- if not
    >> thousands. There were all sorts of birds passing this morning. Various
    >> warblers & vireos, redstarts, cuckoos, finches, herons, egrets and many
    >> more. Also, there were a lot of moths and butterflies. I haven’t
    >> seen this much activity since spring.
    >
    > The birds
    > were all but gone just before day break. There are a few stragglers/
    > weak birds still here. Mostly warblers. One Brown Thrasher but he seems
    > fine.
    >
    > Troy Reitan, GOM 40 miles south of Main Pass
    >
    >


Categories

