Posted by: woodcreeper | October 1, 2008 @ 6:39 am

Huge migration last night (updated)

Sorry about not posting the radar sooner, but my daughter was born, at home, at 5:14am this morning. This is one minute before my alarm clock went off to tell me to wake up and download the radar (yes, I was up; no, I did not download the radar). Anyway, migration was hot and heavy last night. Here it is from 7:00pm through 5:00am this morning.

Frames are every 1/2 hour. Click on the thumbnail to view the full-sized animation.
Base Reflectivity image from Key West, FL Base Velocity image from Key West, FL Base Reflectivity image from Miami, FL Base Velocity image from Miami, FL Composite base reflectivity for the Southeastern USA

Wow! Big flight! What was the outcome? I imagine the birding across the state was quite good, with some high densities in SE Florida, as well as Key West (and the Dry Tortugas, but I wonder if anyone was birding out there)

Good Birding,

David

Please don’t forget to become a member of the Badbirdz/Woodcreeper flock today. You can read the Become a Member post to find out more information.

Responses

  1. North Fort Myers near I-75 and Bayshore road. It is hard to stay inside and work! There are definitely warblers here — have seen several Prairie, at least 1 N. Parula and Blue-gray Gnatcatchers are abundant.

  2. I can’t believe you were too busy to post the radar this morning. Slacker!

    🙂

    (daddy)

  3. you bust my balls and don’t post your sightings? 😉

    what is this world coming to…

  4. Hey D la P,

    You are awesome! Hey don’t feel pressured into posting the radar.

    CONGRATULATIONS on the new LaPuma addition. That is a great name!

    Today it must have been birdy because only occasionally do we have birds in our concrete jungle neighborhood. We added 2 new yard or actually parking lot birds at our apt after work Eastern Kingbird and Black-and-white Warbler. There were also many Black-throated Blues, Prairies, A Redstarts and BG Gnatcatchers. Swallows were also streaming overhead. Unfortunately we did not have time to bird as much as we would have liked to, we wonder what the rest of Miami produced.

    Congratulations again to you and Inga!

    Much love,
    Angel & Mariel

  5. Congratulations David and Inga and Wren -the youngest member of the Badbirdz flock!!

    (david- check your email)

  6. I was out in ENP Oct 1 while Robin banded solo at Cape Florida, hence no sightings from me. It was surprisingly quiet in Hole in the Donut. I now know that she banded 45 birds with half the nets open, so migration was pretty good. Wish I could’ve been out there!


Categories

