Posted by: NatureIsAwesome | April 24, 2009 @ 11:45 am

Major Migration Event TX & LA!

Radar for Galveston,TX  AMAZING MIGRATION EVENT!

Radar for Galveston,TX AMAZING MIGRATION EVENT!

If you are interested in seeing a major migration event on radar click the radar image. Texas and Louisiana had a major influx of birds today, as of 11am birds could still be seen entering the radars.  Coastal migrant traps may have some new faces today but inland migrant traps look best as birds were flying at high speeds and therefore may overshoot the coast.   If you are in east Texas or anywhere in Louisiana go birding, it should be exceptional.

Here is a link to the Louisiana radar it looked impressive as well. 

Lake Charles, LA Radar-

http://www.rap.ucar.edu/weather/radar/displayRad.php?icao=KLCH&prod=bref1&bkgr=black&endDate=20090424&endTime=18&duration=5

 

 

Nature is Awesome
Angel & Mariel

Responses

  1. I just came across your site and I appreciate the information. I bird at the Falls of the Ohio State Park across the Ohio River from Louisville, KY. I have noticed that this year seems to be starting later than last year’s migration. You helped answer the question as to where the birds are. Because we had two recent bad weather events that damaged a lot of habitat (damaging winds from Hurrican Ike and a severe ice storm) I’m really interested in how that affects what I see in my corner of the world. We sustained a lot of tree damage and had been wondering if the birds were by passing us because of that. Now I know that migration seems to be occurring a little later. I’ll keep my eyes open. Thanks… Al


Categories

