Posted by: NatureIsAwesome | October 9, 2009 @ 5:57 am

Birds Pour Out of Florida Heading South for the Winter

This is the radar from 6:00pm last night to 5:30am this morning.

Frames are every 1/2 hour. Click on the thumbnail to view the full-sized animation.
Base Reflectivity image from Key West, FL Base Velocity image from Key West, FL Base Reflectivity image from Miami, FL Base Velocity image from Miami, FL Composite base reflectivity for the Southeastern USA

Nature is Awesome,
Angel and Mariel

Responses

  1. Yesterday I stopped at Matheson in the afternoon after work; couldn’t walk too far due to a bad back, so I checked the east side picnic area. In the tree island just east from the bathroom I found a male Wilson’s Warbler and an Empid
    that fits well for Yellow-bellied. The bird gave me pretty good looks. I have not seen Yellow-bellied before, but I’m pretty comfortable with the
    others we get here. The green color on the back was reminiscent of Acadian, but the wing projections didn’t appear long enough for this species. But, they were longer than on a Least. The bird had a big-headed appearance like
    that on a Least, but this bird had yellow on the underside all the way to the undertail. The bill, eyering, and distinctive wingbars all looked good
    for Yellow-bellied. I will stop again tomorrow morning with Trey to hopefully get a photo.

    I later stopped at Sadowski Park and found a definite Least Flycatcher, along with a Traill’s type that was a really good candidate for Willow due
    to the complete lack of an eyering. Unfortunately, this one didn’t call, but just sat there giving me great looks. I didn’t walk much here either.
    I’m hoping my back gets better by the weekend to do some serious birding.

    Here’s the tally from the two brief stops:

    Yellow-bellied Flycatcher (possible)
    Traill’s Flycatcher
    Least Flycatcher
    Eastern Wood-Pewee
    Yellow-throated Vireo
    House Wren (FOTS)
    Wilson’s Warbler
    Chestnut-sided Warbler
    Magnolia Warbler
    Worm-eating Warbler
    Yellow-throated Warbler
    Northern Parula
    Black-throated Blue Warbler
    Prairie Warbler
    Ovenbird
    Common Yellowthroat
    Blue Grosbeak
    Short-tailed Hawk

    Toe

  2. Here in Stuart, FL (east coast north of Palm Beach)I spied my first warblers in my own backyard. Haven’t been able to scout around lately, so it was nice to have them finally come to me. 😉
    Hope to have id’s and pics up at my blog tonight.
    What a fantastic time of year!

  3. We got snubbed again with birds passing over us. Even the recaps skipped town! However, it’s good that the birds are in such good condition that they continue southward. Blue Grosbeak was the most interesting bird in our section of Cape Florida.

  4. Even though Green Cay was dead, I did get my first feeder Painted Bunting yesterday, and some Palm Warblers appeared this morning. And the Wood Storks have moved to their canal-side posts – all 3 signs that winter is on its way, and the faces are changing!


Categories

