Posted by: NatureIsAwesome | September 28, 2010 @ 8:25 am

Migration At It’s Finest; Behind The Front

SE Mosaic Radar Loop 28/September2010

The front has settled a bit south of what was expected and has allowed birds to travel farther down the state than we had anticipated. From the Tampa area east to the Space Coast birds could be seen on radar dropping down to land. As the front moved southeast last night the birds really took advantage. We will post more in a bit, get out and bird; there has to be migrants around to see!

Nature is Awesome
Angel & Mariel

Responses

  1. Good Afternoon,

    Since 10:30 AM this morning I been having a steady movement of migrants thru the neighborhood. Most a the migrants have been tanagers and thrushes.
    At one moment, several tanagers and thrushes flew in to one of my neighbors oak tree and started to go into a feeding frenzy on a Virgina Creeper vine that
    was covered in berries. That is when I made most of my ids on the them. One of neighbors came out and told me that earlier in the morning the American Beautyberry in my moms front yard was covered in thrushes, she counted 12 thrushes. She gave me the best descriptions she had and I was able figure out
    she had 8 Veeries and 4 Swaninson’s types. Warbler numbers so far have been low, but I was able to score a female Canada Warbler. Here is the count so far:

    14 – Summer Tanagers (majority females)
    8 – Scarlet Tanagers (majority females)
    10 – unidentified tanagers
    12 – Veeries
    10 – Swainson’s Thrushes
    20 – unidentified Thrushes
    6 – Northern Parulas
    2 – Prairie Warblers
    2 – American Redstarts
    1 – female Canada Warbler
    1 – female Blackburnian Warbler
    2 – Eastern Wood-Pewees
    6 – Barn Swallows

    I want to add that there has been a wind shift from yesterday to today. Late last night between 11:30 PM and 1 AM a line of showers moved thru the area. Since
    then I have notice a more Northerly breeze then yesterday. I think the migrants are riding the front down the state just like Bob Duncan said would happen. All the unidentified thrushes and tanagers numbers are a best guess has they are moving pretty fast high up in the oak trees.

    Erik Haney

  2. I think you are being a bit harsh. I certainly believe the Duncan’s sightings and while I do not know Eric, based on these returns and what would normally show up this time of year it certainly seems plausible. I myself do not carry a camera with me but have had decent birding here in central florida over the last couple of weeks. One thing that draws me to birding is its unpredictability. This site has proved to be a valuable resource helping me to at least get a good idea of what may be happening. I apprecite the efforts of those who keep it running and know that I as well as others look forward to seeing these posts.

    Brian Krikorian
    BKrikorian@cfl.rr.com

  3. Hi Florida Birders,

    Let me get this out before the report gets any colder!

    A good day yesterday, Tuesday, in Taylor county where I, for a change, actually managed to intersect a few birds. Not sure how this fits into the overall pattern of Bob Duncan’s “good stuff” in the far western panhandle, and a few lesser reports from the peninsula. I can only offer this as just another data point.

    My destination was Hickory Mound Impoundment. It was birdy right from the get-go, and I was torn between tarrying on the 8-mile entrance drive and getting to the southernmost spots. Of course I did as little of both.

    It was high tide when I arrived early morning. No ducks, no terns, only one gull (Laughing), and minimal shorebirds (a few Spotted Sandpipers and Willets) to distract me. Alas.

    But wait, there’s more!

    Passerine highlights:

    Acadian Flycatchers, several heard calling. Some were not quite the exclamatory call I’m used to, but after checking sources, I must conclude they were Acadians.

    Gray Catbird – more than I could count, newly arrived, and proud of it.

    Thrushes: zero

    C Chickadees – several

    Vireos – only White-eyed and Red-eyed

    Tennessee Warbler – entrance road

    Parula

    Yellow Warbler – about a dozen

    Chestnut-sided – 2

    Magnolia – one, oddly, at the exact same spot and same tree I saw one in April. It was the only warbler I saw that day. Perplexing.

    Yellow-throated

    Pine

    Prairie

    Palm – several on entrance road

    Black-and-White

    Redstart – about 6

    Ovenbird – several on entrance road

    N Waterthrush – at least 2 on entrance road

    Kentucky Warbler – whoopie!

    Yellowthroat

    Chat – entrance road

    Summer Tanager – one

    Indigo Buntings – a few singing on entrance road

    Orchard Oriole – At the Magnolia spot. I had seen a few here, also, in April

    Baltimore Oriole – a bird I couldn’t place flew across the road as I was driving north on the entrance road. I stopped, and glory be, the bird was in full view in a large oak eating berries from a vine. I would have bet good money I wouldn’t connect with it again!

    A great day with some new county birds for me.

    Dotty Robbins


Categories

